Thankfulness

This Thanksgiving, I’m thankful for all my families and communities.

First and foremost, I’m thankful for my immediate family.  I’m thankful that the husband has a good job that allows for him to provide for the life we choose to lead.  I’m thankful that Mushroom and BalletBoy are such amazing, wonderful kids.  I’m most thankful that we have such a loving household where we all try our best to respect each other and take care of each others’ needs.

I’m also thankful for my extended family: my parents, their spouses, my in-laws, my step-siblings, my grandmother, my aunts and uncles and cousins and all my connections in the world.  I am blessed to have so many wonderful family members.

I’m also thankful for my writing groups and for the fellowship that I find with them.  I recently had the pleasure of hanging out with my friend Pam Ehrenberg at the Writer’s Center as she gave a short class about running a writing group, so the benefits of writing groups have been on my mind.  Writing is a solitary endeavor.  I’m lucky to have found people to share it occasionally: people who inspire me and who help me write more and write better.

I’m thankful for all the wonderful homeschool parents I know.  First, I’m thankful for my co-ops and for my wonderful Half-Caf and Decaf friends.  Sure, I found other families so that my kids would find friends, but sometimes I think I’m the one getting the best socialization out of these relationships!  It can be hard in some corners of the world to find homeschoolers who share your basic outlook and can be friendly companions for your homeschooling journey.  I’m so lucky to have found so many families who are so loving and wonderful.

Finally, I’m thankful for the online community of homeschoolers that I’ve found, especially in the blogging world.  I’m still a bit of a newbie to this blogging thing.  I’ve gotten a lot out of so many homeschool blogs, who have led me to resources, made me laugh or think, and let me (and everyone else) into their world.  I’ve been especially honored when my fellow bloggers, like Theresa from Our Life in Words, Rayven from Ramblings of a Dysfunctional Homeschooler and have mentioned little old me in posts and tagged me in blog games.  I’m not always very good at following memes and blog awards, but it’s pretty cool to have gotten a couple of them.

So, happy Thanksgiving to everyone.  I hope you have just as many wonderful people in your life to be thankful for.

One thought on “Thankfulness

Leave a Reply

