The ALA Youth Awards

Hey, I'm an award winner now!

The Newbery, Printz, Caldecott, and the other ALA medals for children’s literature were announced earlier today.  The Printz award winner, Ship-Breaker by Paolo Bacigalupi has been on my to read list, but I haven’t gotten around to it yet.  However, I admit that the new Newbery title, Moon Over Manifest by Clare Vanderpool wasn’t on my to read at all.

As befitting the mother of two early readers, the Geisel Award is the only one I can actually give any commentary to.  Kate DiCamillo’s Bink and Gollie is the winner.  Grace Lin’s cute book Ling & Ting and Mo Willems’s latest Elephant and Piggie title, We Are in a Book! get the honors awards.  As I think I’ve mentioned, We Are in a Book! is slightly mind-bending for this age group and certainly a solid entry into one of the best early reader series of all time, but I suppose there’s only so much love you can heap upon Elephant and Piggie before it gets embarrassing.  Besides, Bink and Gollie is a wonderful book too.  It has shades of graphic novel to it that also giving a cutting edge book design that I’m sure was appealing.  However, the story and the characters are cute.  I almost bought it for BalletBoy for Christmas but then stopped myself to wait for the paperback (sorry, publishers).  It’s perfect for a child who is about to outgrow most easy readers but isn’t quite ready for even short chapter books yet.  DiCamillo seems to understand that in between formats reading stage very well.  Her Mercy Watson series is a good introductory chapter books series for early readers.

In any case, check out the full list of award winners here.  Probably you’ll be surprised just how many awards there are.  I always forget about a few of them myself.

One thought on “The ALA Youth Awards

Leave a Reply

