3 thoughts on “Collective Fractal

  1. I’m trying to decide on a math curriculum for this upcoming year and this is one that a friend recommended. However I have found that I’ve agreed with a lot of your teaching ideas and was wondering what you didn’t like about RightStart ? Thanks!

    1. Everything I’ve seen about RightStart seems really cool. I like the focus on understanding place value and the use of the abacus. I especially like the cool projects like this one and the games are neat. We actually have used some of those – including Going to the Dump, which was good for learning 10 facts.

      BUT… I knew it wasn’t for me the moment I saw the whole box of stuff that my friends who use it have. It’s filled with little pieces – popsicle sticks and little counting bits and scraps of special papers and tons of manipulatives and the stuff for the games. Plus, there’s not a student text per se. It’s all scripted activities that the parent has to prep and carry out each day. For parents who feel like they can organize that, it seems like it’s really great. So it may well be the right program for many people. But I know myself and I know I can’t work that way. I’m much more creative and dynamic as a teacher when I work on the fly. But for the day to day, in between those teachable and creative moments, I like to have something that I can set up and just have go, no trouble.

      We started with MEP as our main program and Miquon on the side. We still use Miquon, but MEP was a no go. The kids didn’t like it. I secretly wish we could switch to Singapore, but the kids responded so well to Math Mammoth because it’s straightforward and builds skills really incrementally but by approaching topics in multiple ways – so I know we shouldn’t change. It’s not a very “fun” program, in my opinion (RightStart is more “fun” in that sense, I think) but I feel comfortable adding math projects, living books, games, and that sort of thing to it, as well as pulling out manipulatives (we like the Cuisenaire rods and the abacus) and demonstrating things in different ways, so I hope I make it fun.

      Hope that answers your question! (And wasn’t way too much information!)

  2. Wow!! Thank you so much for taking the time to answer my question 🙂 I really appreciate your input! Look forward to continuing reading more of your posts.

Leave a Reply

