Black Friday Resistance Unite!

I know some people really enjoy the “Black Friday” shopping, but I’m not one of them.  In fact, this year, my mother and I made a pledge to go mostly homemade for Christmas.  I don’t know that we’ll achieve our goal, but we’re making an effort.  I thought I’d share with you a link that’s been on my bookmarks for awhile: Handmade Homeschool’s awesome list of tutorials for homemade gifts.  It’s a few years old now, but they’re all still good ideas.  Shh… don’t tell anyone, but I think Mushroom and BalletBoy are going to make this easy idea, which I got off that list, for some of the relatives.

Speaking of Mushroom and BalletBoy, I’ve gotten started on the making in earnest for them.  I began by trying to make little peg dolls for them.  I was inspired by sets like this, which I saw on Etsy, but I gave it a twist as Mushroom and BalletBoy are really into Avatar: the Last Airbender.

My set isn’t quite as awesome as some of the ones I saw on Etsy, but I’m feeling decent about it, especially since the pegs were so cheap and that set on Etsy was over a hundred dollars.  You can totally tell that’s Aang, right?  I may do them a Phineas and Ferb set or possibly an Astroboy set next.

Other seven year-old boy making plans include little artist kits, with pencils and pads, sort of like in this tutorial but with more subdued colors.  Mushroom saw something like that in a store and has specifically requested it, so that’s a win.  Also, I’m hoping to make them catapults like in this tutorial and, if I get really ambitious, a tabletop skee-ball like in this tutorial, though I might use a combination of wood and nice cardboard for it.

Does this mean I’ve become one of those homeschoolers?  My kids weren’t in colonial clothes when we went to Williamsburg so the Husband said he didn’t think we were really homeschoolers.  Maybe this will put us over the edge?

4 thoughts on “Black Friday Resistance Unite!

  1. I was resisting Black Friday really well; it’s not a tradition in my family. I bought an iPad application about the solar system for a couple of dollars.

    Then I realized Apple laptops were on sale. I ordered a MacBook Air.

    Oh, and I like the peg dolls, nice job!

Leave a Reply

