A Kindle Complaint: 10 Books…

Ten books that are vaguely on our to read at some point aloud list that I looked for on Kindle that were not available.  I usually rely on library books, but with our trip coming, I wanted to fill up my Kindle for read aloud options.

Ella Enchanted (Hardcover) ~ Gail Carson Levine (Author) Cover ArtGreat Brain,The (Paperback) ~ John D. Fitzgerald (Author) Cover ArtHowl's Moving Castle (Paperback) ~ Diana Wynne Jones (Author) Cover ArtHomer Price (Paperback) ~ Robert McCloskey (Author) Cover ArtPippi Longstocking (Puffin Modern Classics) (Paperback) ~ Astrid ... Cover ArtThe Witches (Paperback) ~ Roald Dahl (Author) Cover Art

1. Ella Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine

2. The Great Brain by John Fitzgerald

3. Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones

4. Then There Were Five by Elizabeth Enright

5. The Witches by Roald Dahl

6. Pippi Longstocking by Astrid Lindgren

7. Homer Price by Robert McKloskey

8. Tales from Moominvalley by Tove Jansson

9. Farmer Boy by Laura Ingalls Wilder

10. Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by JK Rowling

Some of them I realized I knew about (oh yeah, that’s what Pottermore is going to sell) and others are slightly forgotten (I guess there’s not much love for the Melendys or the works of Elizabeth Enright these days or for the Moomins, sadly).  But others of these are Newbery winners and works by authors that are still selling quite well.  I mean, can you believe that none of Roald Dahl’s or Laura Ingalls Wilder’s works are on Kindle?!?  Or that classics like Pippi or Homer Price aren’t?  Or that Gail Carson Levine’s most famous work, one that was made into a popular movie, even if it was awhile ago, can’t be read on e-book?

The Secret Garden (Paperback) ~ Frances Hodgson Burnett Cover ArtThe Blue Fairy Book (Dover Storybooks for Children) (Paperback)  ... Cover ArtThe Wonderful Wizard of Oz: 100th Anniversary Edition (Books of  ... Cover ArtFive Children and It (Puffin Classics) (Paperback) ~ E. Nesbit ( ... Cover ArtPeter Pan and Wendy: Centenary Edition (Sterling Illustrated Cla ... Cover Art

Oh well.  I guess I’ve gotten too spoiled by our instant gratification, all digital age.  On the bright side, here’s a nice list of free classics from Satori Smiles you can get on your e-reader.  It includes lots of suggestions that led me to realizing that you can find most all of E. Nesbit, George MacDonald, Andrew Lang, L. Frank Baum, Frances Hodgson Burnett and other great old authors.  So we may not have gotten The Great Brain (rats!  that’s the one I wanted to read next most!) but at least we got the next Oz book for nothing.

10 thoughts on “A Kindle Complaint: 10 Books…

  1. I don’t have a Kindle, but I have noticed similar issues with Netflix movies. Little House on the Prairie and Pippi Longstocking (and countless others) are not available to watch online, you have to have the DVD/mail membership to get those titles.

    I’m sure it all boils down to money 😉

    That’s funny, too, because “The Great Brain” is our next read-aloud, too! We just finished, “The Trumpet of the Swan” and our current read is, “Mr. Popper’s Penguins.”

  2. I agreed with you about the limited selection of books available on the Kindle, especially children’s books. I have what I like to call “eclectic” reading tastes. My husband just refers to it as wack-o, as in “why the hell would anyone want to read a book about the history of cod. you are wack-o”. I tell him he should be grateful that I like odd things. My dss have inherited my “eclectic” tastes. Trying to find books on how to become a werewolve, the history of tennis shoes, and Jack the Ripper for a 7 and 8 year old can be difficult even at a library, but impossible on the Kindle. It seems most of the books are junk or best-sellers for the masses. Don’t get me wrong we’re not above indulging in a bit of mass culture but most can be gotten at the library. Our library system is crappy at best and it would be great to be able to feed our eclectic tastes through the Kindle. I know I can order the books but hubby says any more bookcases and we will have to pitch a tent and live in the backyard. So, what’s a girl to do?

  3. I see Peter Pan and Wendy is on your freebie list. There’s a really well-illustrated Kindle edition on Amazon for $2, http://www.amazon.com/Illustrated-Wonderland-Imprints-Editions-ebook/dp/B004OEKGSY/ref=sr_1_8?ie=UTF8&qid=1329410752&sr=8-8. It’s not free, but it’s VERY cheap, and it was fun to get so many illustrations from a bunch of different artists all in the same book. My 6yo had a great time looking at them as we read and comparing the different styles.

    Thanks for the link to the Satori Smiles list, that will come in very handy!

  4. Do your boys do much reading on the Kindle? We’re preparing for an international move, and I am thinking about getting my boys (who will be 8 and 6) Kindles so we can take our favorite books with us as well as new ones for them read over the next couple years. I’m just not sure about how they will do reading on a screen.

Leave a Reply

