Velveteen Rabbits and Knuffle Bunnies

Knuffle Bunny Free: An Unexpected Diversion (Hardcover) ~ Mo Wil... Cover ArtI know it’s pathetic, but Knuffle Bunny Free gets me every time.  I seriously tear up when I read it.  And last night, reading it to BalletBoy, he teared up too.  BalletBoy has recently lost a beloved toy.  It’s Mary, the plastic Fisher Price person who inspired the “Mary and the Frog Show,” which was the very first show on the BFG Network, which, in turn spawned the BFG Company.  If you don’t know what I’m talking about, it’s not because your’e not up on the latest kid shows, it’s because my kids have wild imaginations that have led to their making up their own corporation.  Some children have imaginary friends.  My kids have an imaginary media empire.

Mary has been missing for awhile but BalletBoy decided to go on a serious hunt for her, a hunt that was unsuccessful.  By the end of things, he was in tears.  I cuddled him and told him the story of how I lost my beloved stuffed teddy bears in college.  No comfort.  Then I told him the story of the Velveteen Rabbit.  He was unimpressed.

Then, at bedtime, I read him Knuffle Bunny Free.  And he got all tearful again, but I think he was comforted a little.  The hardest part is that he’s convinced she has gone out in the trash, which could well be true.  And if so, then no child is playing with her somewhere else like Knuffle Bunny.  And no fairy has made her a real girl like the Velveteen Rabbit.  And BalletBoy knows it.  Poor kid.

One thought on “Velveteen Rabbits and Knuffle Bunnies

  1. I have a whole box of Fisher Price people collecting dust in my son’s room. If I have a match for Mary I would be happy to mail her to BalletBoy. We could pretend she ran away to Boston for an adventure. Let me know…

Leave a Reply

