Family

Just appreciating so much that my kids have two living great grandparents who they will know and remember.  What a great link to the past it has been during our year of studying modern history as well to be able to say, your Banny was just a toddler when the Great Depression began or your Banny got married during World War II.  How amazing it is to have that living, grounded link to the past and that multi-generational love.  It is a good bit of a drive to see my grandmother so we don’t get to go often, but worth every moment when we do.

banny

Sorry for the blog slowness.  We have been traveling and enjoying summer fireworks and family and swimming and so forth, as well as keeping up school the best we can (so we can take off in the fall).  I’ll have more to post later this week.

5 thoughts on “Family

  1. My Great Grandmother died two weeks ago at the age of 100 years 7 months and 20 days.
    I will always remember the time I spent with her.

  2. My kids have known four of their great-grandparents… one of them passed away in February, and one of them has dementia now, but they have memories of all of them. I don’t have memories of my great-grandparents, but I’m so glad they do. It’s a beautiful thing. I love that others’ kids have that. How wonderful!

  3. My daughter lost all of grandparents, my dad died before she was born, my husband’s parents died before she was 7, and we are no-contact with my mother. The 5 years that she had with her grandfather and the 6 that she had with her grand mother were magical. They told her stories and she experienced so much love…

    My grandmother died when I was 25 at the age of 98. She had 118 grandchildren, great grandchildren and great-great grandchildren. I was lucky to have had in my life for as long as I did. It

  4. That is a beautiful picture! So much love! Hoping you and your family are enjoying your summer. Thank you for all of the wonderful reviews and recommendations on this blog and on the Secular Homechool forum. My daughter thinks I’ve morphed into a “fun mom.” I feel compelled to tell her that there is a Rock Star of a Homeschooling Mom and Goddess of Homeschool Curricula in D.C. who is responsible for so many of the positive changes around our place. Wishing you and yours all the best!

Leave a Reply

