Slow Workers

I usually blog when I feel like I have some insight or great resources or about our process, but this is none of those things. It’s more of a vent or a confession or maybe just a reluctant acceptance.

My children are incredibly slow workers. I’m talking snail’s pace here. Ten math problems can take the whole math time. A short dictation passage can take us half an hour. A ten minute freewriting time is inevitably twenty minutes minimum. We are just slow.

I would like to put a nice spin on this and tell you that my children are deliberate and thoughtful. Or I’d like to be able to say that we are slow, but diligent. Or… something. And while sometimes Mushroom and BalletBoy are being thoughtful or diligent, sometimes they’re just slow for no apparent reason.

Or maybe it’s for a million little reasons. Doodling, wanting to jump on the trampoline, doing school next to your kitchen, eating your Cheerios while you do math, listening to your brother do his piano or watching your mother sweep the floor. Plus there’s Mushroom’s anxiety, telling him he can’t get things done. Or BalletBoy’s annoyance when Mushroom gets anxious. There are too many little ways that everyone gets derailed just little by little.

In the end, it’s okay. I keep us on track. I give everyone a break, I alternate between seat work and movement, I feed everyone gum or snacks to keep us alert. We manage to accomplish most of what we need to accomplish. I have no idea what my poor children will do when they meet a timed test, but for now, I guess the biggest problem is just that school takes a bit longer.

And I just have to accept that.

When I went to look for a picture of "school" from the last couple of weeks, this was actually the only one. It's BalletBoy giving Mushroom a huge after he got frustrated with something. I guess if this is the sort of school delay we have, then it can't be all bad.
When I went to look for a picture of “school” from the last couple of weeks, this was actually the only one. It’s BalletBoy giving Mushroom a huge after he got frustrated with something. I guess if this is the sort of school delay we have, then it can’t be all bad.

7 thoughts on “Slow Workers

  1. For a second there I thought you were writing about us! Sometimes things take forever to get done and other days we get things done super quickly. I LOVE the photo…one for the treasure book!

  2. So you know, I was a very slow worker when I was a homeschooled kid. Primarily, I simply couldn’t keep my attention on anything… I would space out. My math work would sometimes take from 8am to 8pm (with breaks for meals only) and I still wouldn’t finish. Obviously this sort of schedule wasn’t very healthy for me.

    But the good news is, I figured myself out. I learned how to make my brain work for me around high-school age. I wish I had been given some tools to help me out earlier, but I managed (and I’m happy to share ideas if you’re interested, but I don’t offer advice without being asked). I’m now quite successful, in graduate school. It works out! Good luck to you!

  3. I was glad to find your post since I also have slow workers. You seem to handle it so well. I tend to nag them or try to rush them; which makes them anxious and upset, and as a result, even slower.

Leave a Reply

