Goodbye 2015

Mushroom does sparklers on our Solstice bonfire night.
Mushroom does sparklers on our Solstice bonfire night.

I’ve been silent lately because we had a tough December. My father passed away, somewhat unexpectedly, and much of the last part of December were devoted to that. A lot of little things went wrong as well. Kids struggling with anxiety and sadness, broken car, mysteriously broken oven, final epic migraine to cap off 2015. The kids helped Christmas be bright. It’s hard to stay too down when there are two eleven year-olds opening video games, wacky t-shirts, and books. However, I admit that I’ve felt a little bit like this dark, gloomy, rainy weather has reflected my year end mood.

It really wasn’t a bad year overall. The kids had a great DI season last year. I feel so good about our last few school projects, especially our 90 Second Newbery film. BalletBoy’s devotion to ballet grew and he scored a small part (but a dancing part) in an upcoming Kennedy Center Performance (he may get to share the stage with Misty Copeland). Mushroom got to perform his first role in drag as Edna in Hairspray. Mushroom took up diving, which he’s really loving. We all traveled, played games, and have just generally have a pretty blessed life. It just ended on a down note is all.

I don’t like resolutions, but I do try to make commitments. One of my commitments last year was something I wrote about recently – my commitment to serve a hot lunch most days. This year, my school and parenting commitment is to helping us appreciate the silence and tune out the noise. It’s really hard to do, but I’d like to introduce more silence and quiet into our days. I’d like us to return to starting the day with a moment of silence. I see that it’s extra hard for all of us, what with so many distractions around us. However, I think it’s important to learn to just be and think.

 

2 thoughts on “Goodbye 2015

Leave a Reply

